The online student newspaper of Vandegrift High School

Vandegrift Voice

The online student newspaper of Vandegrift High School

Vandegrift Voice

The online student newspaper of Vandegrift High School

Vandegrift Voice

Individual Staff Awards


ILPC Individual Achievement Awards:

Entertainment Photo – Yness Martinez, 1st Place Tops in Texas
Headlines – Seiya Mutreja, 1st Place
Personal Opinion Column – Abigail Lincks, 1st Place “AAC Needs Help”
General News Photo – Valeria Amaya, 1st Place
News Feature – Abigail Lincks, 2nd Place “Islamic Misconceptions”
Personal Column – Aisha Rashid, 2nd Place “A Trip to the Holy Cities”
Photo Portfolio – Valeria Amaya, 2nd Place
Computer Art – Bailey Niles, Honorable Mention


Leadership Award: Abigail Lincks, Yness Martinez, Seiya Mutreja, Isabel Young

Fall Clips & Clicks: Infographic – Fifth Place: Seiya Mutreja “Let’s Taco-bout it”; Feature Story – Honorable Mention: Abigail Lincks “Students break down Islamic misconceptions”, Rylie Lockerman “A new kind of freshie”, Lourdes Hernandez Peraza “Wicked Wardrobe”;

Texas Association of Journalism Educators (TAJE)
Best in Texas:

Aisha Rashid – Excellent Story Portfolio (Sophomore initiates mock trial, Breaking Barriers, Rockin’ on Stage, Vandy Voyages, A Trip to the Holy Cities); Honorable Mention Feature Stories – Breaking Barriers, Rockin’ at ACL, Vandy Voyages; Honorable Mention Personal Column – A Trip to the Holy Cities

Julia Bychowski – Honorable Mention Story Portfolio (Students attend UT annual CTMUN conference, Student starts first Muslim club, Hit or Miss, Course Cuts, A cheat for the future)

Yness Martinez – Honorable Mention Story Portfolio (What do students need to know about the midterms?, Who’s Toxic?, Rigs to Roots, Parking Madness, STEM-ing Abroad); Excellent News Photo – Harry’s House

Bailey Niles – Excellent Design Portfolio (Student starts first Muslim club, IB Attracts International Students, Monkeypox Fears Grow, Rockin’ on Stage, Islamic Misconceptions); Honorable Mention Original Artwork – Monkeypox Fears Grow, Thanksgiving Story; Honorable Mention Infographic Presentation – Monkeypox Fears Grow

Isabel Young – Excellent News Story – Sophomore organizes Roe v. Wade walkout

Rylie Lockerman – Honorable Mention News Story – Chamber, tenor bass choir selected for national conventions

Abigail Lincks – Honorable Mentions News Story – New mandate implemented on campus amidst Uvalde tragedy, past bomb threat; Honorable Mention Personal Opinion Column – AAC Needs Help

Sarah McKelvy – Honorable Mention News-Feature Story – Prop Parents

Valeria Amaya – Excellent News Photo – Chess Tournament

Kaya Kinsey – Honorable Mention Sports Action Photo – DII State Championship



ILPC Individual Achievement Awards:

Feature Photo: 1st Place – Sophie Robinson (Tops in Texas);
General News Photo: 1st Place – Yness Martinez;
Infograph/Sidebar: 1st Place – Seiya Mutreja;
Photo Slideshow: 2nd Place, Yness Martinez;
Headlines: 2nd Place – Dayna Ung
Entertainment Feature: 2nd Place – Dayna Ung;
Computer Art: 3rd Place, Bailey Niles;
News Writing: Honorable Mention – Isabel Young;
Sports News Story: Honorable Mention – Taylor Chronert;
Personal Opinion Column: Honorable Mention – Isabel Young, Yness Martinez;
Computer Art: Honorable Mention – Bailey Niles;
Student Artwork: Honorable Mention – Seiya Mutreja;
Sports Action Photo: Honorable Mention – Sofia Valladares;
Portrait: Honorable Mention – Yness Martinez

Barbara Jordan Media Award

Taylor Chronert “Forward March

NSPA – 10th overall publication in the country

Honor Roll: Kate Denning, Daniel Farrow, Claire Janson, Abby Lincks, Yness Martinez, Nicholas Scoggins, Dayna Ung, Natalie Weber, and Isabel Young

Fall Clips & Clicks: Feature Story – Honorable Mention: Taylor Chronert “Forward March”, Kate Denning “Spiritual Energy”, Julia Bychowski “Click, Not Kick”
Sports Story – Second Place: Taylor Chronert “The New Voice of the Vipers”, Fifth Place: Yness Martinez “Student Commits to Notre Dame”

Spring Clips & Clicks: Sports Story – Fifth Place: Karissa Gonzales “Zachary Hampton wrestles in states”, Taylor Chronert “Varsity baseball makes playoffs after 4 years”

Texas Association of Journalism Educators (TAJE)
Best in Texas:

Kate Denning – Excellent Feature Story – Spiritual Energy

Isabel Young – Honorable Mention Story Portfolio (LISD to Remove Books from Curriculum, My Body, My Choice, Man’s Best Friend, School Violence Threats on the Rise, Student Wary of Returning to School); Excellent Feature Story – Man’s Best Friend; Excellent Nameplate, Folio & Standing Heads – Nameplate etc

Abby Lincks – Excellent Story Portfolio (Pop Unplugged, Three Dimensional Robotics, Putting Pen to Paper, Demand for Manga Grows in Library, Struggling to Make Time for Reading?); Honorable Mention Feature Story – Three Dimensional Robotics; Honorable Mention Entertainment Review – Patti Smith; Honorable Mention Entertainment Review – The Maidens

Taylor Chronert – Honorable Mention Feature Story –  Forward March

Dayna Ung – Honorable Mention Feature Story – On Patrol

Nicholas Scoggins – Honorable Mention Personal Opinion Column –Stop Politicizing History

Julia Bychowski – Excellent Feature Story – Click, not kick

Elise Rodriguez – Honorable Mention Sports Action Photo – Winning State

Charlotte Jordan – Honorable Mention News Photo – COVID Update

Cristina Orozco – Honorable Mention Feature Photo –  Manga

Yness Martinez – Honorable Mention Portrait – Women’s March

Bailey Niles – Superior Design Portfolio ( New Texas Abortion Law Puts Teens at Risk, Britney’s Back, Get the Jab, Teachers Take Action, Faculty Report Mice Sightings); Superior Original Artwork – The JabPhones UsageMice Sightings; Excellent Original Artwork – Senior Pranks; Honorable Mention Original Artwork – BritneyColleges

Seiya Mutreja – Excellent Original Artwork – Texas Heartbeat



ILPC Individual Achievement Awards:

News Writing: 3rd Place – Brianne Chase; Honorable Mention – Katie McClellan

News Feature: Honorable Mention – Dayna Ung

Sports News Story: Honorable Mention – Kate Denning

Sports Feature Story: 3rd Place – Eilla Reid

Feature Writing: Honorable Mention – Kate Denning

Entertainment Feature: Honorable Mention – Kate Denning, Dayna Ung

Infographic/Sidebar: 3rd Place – Ashley Beccera

Headlines: Dayna Ung, Katie McClellan, Kate Denning