Round Rock Express Baseball look to have another solid season


Carson Field, Sports Editor

The 2016 Round Rock Express played their home opener on Friday against the Iowa Cubs with an 8-6 victory.

The win was fueled by a three run first inning and a four run fifth inning. Top performers in the game included James Jones and Jurickson Profar, who both went 2-5, and Joey Gallo, who went 1-3 with two runs and a walk.

The win made them 6-3 on the year, however, they followed Friday’s win with a corresponding loss against Iowa, moving them to 6-4 on the year, which is still a good record.

The Express won the Pacific Coast League American Conference Championship Series in 2015, setting them up for success this year. Winning this series has shown that the Rangers have one of the best farm systems in baseball. From Triple-A to the Rookie leagues, their organization is stacked with young talent.

Round Rock returns most of their solid players from last year, including Jared Hoying, Joey Gallo and Nick Martinez. However, there is a good chance that a few of these players could be called up to the Rangers midseason, which would hurt the Express.

Although there is a good chance that the Express could lose players to their parent club, there is a lot of organizational depth in the Double-A and Single-A clubs. These players in the lower levels of the Minor Leagues might be called up to Triple-A by the end of the season, which could help the Express’ chances of winning the Pacific Coast League Championship.

Top prospects in the Rangers’ organization below Triple-A include outfielder Lewis Brinson, right handed pitcher, Luis Ortiz and outfielder Ryan Cordell. These prospects are all noted as some of the top prospects in the MLB, and are expected to make it up to Triple-A and the MLB relatively soon.

The Round Rock Express are off to a good start, as they have a winning record and have several players batting above .300. If they can keep their winning ways up, there is a good chance that they can compete for a Pacific Coast League title.